Ruan Pienaar To lead Toyota Cheetahs In Must Win Against Kings

Photo by JJ Vorster/

The Toyota Cheetahs announced their team that will play against the Southern Kings after their narrow win against the Southern Kings in Port Elizabeth.

Jasper Wiese makes his comeback after suspension, replacing Gerhard Olivier who sustained an injury during last week’s derby.

Ruan Pienaar will be leading the side with Tian Meyer providing cover on the bench. Speedster, Rabz Maxwane will be wearing the number 11 jersey. Daniel Maartens and Louis Fouche are new on the bench.

Luan de Bruin will earn his 50th cap for the Toyota Cheetahs when he sets foot to field.

Toyota Cheetahs: 1 Charles Marais; 2 Joseph Dweba; 3 Aranos Coetzee; 4 Walt Steenkamp; 5 JP du Preez; 6 Chris Massyn; 7 Junior Pokomela; 8 Jasper Wiese; 9 Ruan Pienaar (Captain); 10 Tian Schoeman; 11 Rabz Maxwane; 12 Benhard Janse van Rensburg; 13 William Small-Smith; 14 Clayton Blommetjies; 15 Rhyno Smith. Replacements: 16 Wilmar Arnoldi; 17 Boan Venter; 18 Luan de Bruin; 19 Aidon Davis; 20 Daniel Maartens; 21 Tian Meyer; 22.Louis Fouche; 23.Chris Smit.

The following players were not eligible for team selection due to injury: Justin Basson (knee), Marnus van der Merwe (knee), Oupa Mohoje (knee), Dries Swanepoel (ankle), Sintu Manjezi (shoulder), Gerhard Olivier (laceration on his face and shoulder) and Anthony Volmink (calf).