Cheetahs Steal It In The 80th Minute

Photo by Riaan Trossee/

The Isuzu Southern Kings almost made history when they lost to the Toyota Cheetahs with 30-31 after leading 13-0 at half time. Two tries by Rhyno Smith in the last five minutes gave the Cheetahs the much-needed win.

The Isuzu Southern Kings lead for 80 minutes in the game until Rhyno Smith scored a converted try in the last minute of the game. Kings lead 30-17 minutes with five minutes to go but could not defend their lead against a charging Cheetahs team.

Un unlucky Kings team deserved this one but will have to wait until next weekend when they play the Cheetahs in Bloemfontein to attempt to get that ever evading first win against the Cheetahs.

The Cheetahs will move back to the third spot in Pool B with 28 league points trailing Ulster Rugby with 8 points but with one game in hand.

Isuzu Southern Kings: Tries: Bader Pretorius, Stefan Ungerer, John Jackson. Conversions: Bader Pretorius (3). Penalties: Bader Pretorius (2), Elrigh Louw.
Toyota Cheetahs: Tries: Sintu Manjezi (2), Wilmar Arnoldi, Rhyno Smith(2). Conversions: Tian Schoeman, Ruaan Pienaar (2).

Isuzu Southern Kings: 15. Masixole Banda, 14. Yaw Penxe, 13. Sibusiso Sithole, 12. JT Jackson, 11. Erich Cronje, 10. Bader-Werner Pretorius, 9. Stefan Ungerer, 8. Elrigh Louw, 7. Thembelani Bholi, 6. Ruan Lerm, 5. Aston Fortuin, 4. Jerry Sexton, 3. Rossouw De Klerk, 2. Jacques Du Toit, 1. Schalk Ferreira. Replacements: 16. Alandre van Rooyen, 17. Xandre Vos, 18. IG Prinsloo, 19. Bobby de Wee, 20. Lusanda Badiyana, 21. Theo Maree, 22. Courtney Winnaar, 23. Andell Laubscher.
Toyota Cheetahs:15. Rhyno Smith, 14. Clayton Blommetjies, 13. William Small-Smith, 12. Benhard Janse van Rensburg, 11 Anthonie Volmink, 10. Tian Schoeman, 9. Tian Meyer, 8. Gerhardus Olivier, 7. Junior Pokomela, 6. Chris Massyn, 5. Walt Steenkamp, 4. Sintu Manjezi, 3. Johannes Coetzee, 2. Joseph Dweba, 1. Boan Venter. Replacements: 16. Wilmar Arnoldi, 17. Erich De Jager, 18. Luan de Bruin, 19. JP du Preez, 20. Aidon Davis, 21. Ruan Pienaar, 22. George Whitehead, 23. Chris Smit, 23. Andell Loubster.