Isuzu Southern Kings Travels Injury Free To Murrayfield

Photo by Belinda Engelbrecht/

The Isuzu Southern Kings team headed for Scotland yesterday ahead of their Guinness PRO14 clash against Edinburgh Rugby at BT Murrayfield on Saturday, January 4.

After a short Christmas break, the side has been hard at training over the past week in preparation for their first match of the new year.

Isuzu Southern Kings interim Head Coach, Robbi Kempson, is pleased with the work his charges have put in over the past month at training after last playing a competitive game in the closely contested encounter against Connacht Rugby in Ireland in November.

“The gents had a good break, and when they returned we did some testing on them and we are pleased that everyone has come back fit and healthy. We have no injury concerns from the squad that we are taking to Edinburgh” Kempson said.

Some of the key changes to the side will see the return of veteran prop, Schalk Ferrerira, who will make his first appearance of the season after recovering from a back injury.

“We are very fortunate to have Schalk back. He did incredibly well with his rehabilitation. He is probably in the best condition we have seen him in a number of years. He has been exceptionally professional in the way he has done his rehabilitation and come back into the fold. We are lucky to have his experience ahead of a tough encounter against an Edinburgh side that recently got one up over Glasgow Warriors.

Not in the group this time though are two other loan players who played significant roles for the Kings in recent matches - prop Juan Schoeman has returned to the Sharks and ditto fullback Scott van Breda to Worcester

The Isuzu Southern Kings touring squad is:

FORWARDS: Schalk Ferreira, Bobby de Wee, Jacques du Toit, Alandre van Rooyen, Thembelani Bholi, Elrigh Louw, Chad Solomon, Ruaan Lerm, Rossouw de Klerk, Aston Fortuin, De-Jay Terblanche, Pieter Scholtz, Xandre Vos, JC Astle, Jerry Sexton.

BACKS: Yaw Penxe, Bader Pretorius, Sibusiso Sithole, Stefan Ungerer, Andell Loubser, Courtney Winnaar, JT Jackson, Theo Maree, Howard Mnisi, Erich Cronje.