Cheetahs Return Home Without Any Wins

The Toyota Cheetahs will return home after three weeks on tour, with no win to show for their efforts. The Cardiff Blues took full advantage from the Cheetahs' ill-discipline and converted four penalties within 20 minutes to secure a 30-17 win after they lead with 17-14 at halftime.

The Cheetahs suffered a blow in the 15th minute as Jasper Wiese (No 8) received a red card for a dangerous charge into a ruck, and they placed extra pressure on themselves as the match progressed with a series of penalties conceded, and a yellow card to Gerhard Olivier (flanker) shortly before halftime for kicking the ball while trying to get back on side from a ruck.

The Blues secured much-needed points after failing to win since the opening round of the competition against Isuzu Southern Kings.


Blues: Tries: Aled Summerhill, Josh Turnbull. Conversion: Jarrod Evans. Penalties: Jason Tovey (2), Jarrod Evans (4).

Cheetahs: Tries: Rhyno Smith, Clayton Blommetjies. Conversions: Ruan Pienaar (2). Penalty: Ruan Pienaar.


Cardiff Blues: Matthew Morgan, Harri Millard, Rey Lee-Lo, Jarrod Evans, Aled Summerhill, Jason Tovey, Lloyd Williams (c), Corey Domachowski, Liam Belcher, Scott Andrews, Josh Turnbull, Seb Davies, Shane Lewis-Hughes, Will Boyde, Nick Williams. Replacements: Kirby Myhill, Brad Thyer, Keiron Assiratti, Macauley Cook, Alun Lawrence, Lewis Jones, Willis Halaholo, Jason Harries.

Toyota Cheetahs: Rhyno Smith, Clayton Blommetjies, William Small-Smith, Benhard Janse van Rensburg, Anthony Volmink, Tian Schoeman, Ruan Pienaar (c), Luan de Bruin, Joseph Dweba, Aranos Coetzee, Sintu Manjezi, Walt Steenkamp, Gerhard Olivier, Junior Pokomela, Jasper Wiese. Replacements: Wilmar Arnoldi, Boan Venter, Erich de Jager, JP du Preez, Sias Koen, Tian Meyer, George Whitehead, Louis Fouche.