The Kings Will Be Up Against Six Returning World Cup Stars

(Photo Credit: Rian Trosee/

Glasgow Warriors hosts the Isuzu Southern Kings tonight as both teams look to bounce back from their respected losses last weekend. Glasgow lost 18-5 to the Dragons in a rain-soaked match while the Isuzu Southern Kings left it too late against Benetton and lost 30-36. Glasgow Warriors are currently placed 5th in Conference A with only one win from four matches while the Kings are currently bottom of the log seventh in Conference B still looking for their first win of the 2019/2020 season.

The Kings will be fielding a young team. Coach Robbie Kempson has given a number of the younger players a start and believes the exuberance will serve the team well against last season’s finalists.

“We will have an exciting young team to be fair, and if we are ever going to grow, we can’t expect to be doing the same thing with the same personnel and expect the same result. It’s a great opportunity for the youngsters to take their chance to take the step up and see what sort of results we can get out of them.”

“We’ve made a few subtle changes in the forwards with Thembelani Bholi coming in at flank. I thought he played a vital role when he came on last week. His presence was felt with his ball carrying, and he also had two critical steals when he came on,” confirmed interim Head Coach, Robbi Kempson.

In the backline, following an elbow injury to Demetri Catrakilis last week, the versatile JT Jackson will get a start in the No10 jersey this week where he will form a half-back pairing with scrumhalf, Josh Allderman.

Erich Cronje will also earn his first starting berth at outside centre, as Sibusiso Sithole shifts from No13 to the wing where he takes the place of Josiah Twum-Boafo.

Six Rugby World Cup stars will make their first appearance of the season for Glasgow Warriors on Friday night, as Dave Rennie made seven changes to his starting XV ahead of the visit of the Isuzu Southern Kings to Scotstoun.

Five of the club’s Scotland contingent come back into the fold for Glasgow’s first home match in three weeks, alongside club record try-scorer DTH van der Merwe.

Speaking about the selection, Rennie said: “It’s been good having some of the Scotland boys back in training this week and competing for their place in the team.

“With experienced players like Zander (Fagerson), George (Horne), Adam (Hastings), Pete (Horne) and DTH (van der Merwe) coming into the team for the first time this season we’re looking for them to lead from the front.

“As always we make our selections based on performance. Glenn Bryce and Kiran McDonald have been rewarded for their recent efforts and retain their place in the team.

“Huw (Jones) played well when he came on last weekend and we’re looking for him to do the same tomorrow against the Kings.

The Isuzu Southern Kings head coach Coach Robbie Kempson said: “Glasgow unfortunately lost against the Dragons last week, which never helps us arriving at their home turf. They do have the option of a few of their Scottish internationals who have arrived back from Rugby World Cup duty,” 

“So yes, it's another big battle that is expected, we expect them to make a few changes in the forward pack given they need the win, and we have a fairly young backline, but we are confident that they will produce the goods

Kick-off: 9.35 (SA) -  Scotstoun Stadium, Glasgow

Glasgow Warriors: 15. Glenn Bryce, 14. Niko Matawalu, 13. Huw Jones, 12. Pete Horne, 11. Adam Hastings, 10. George Horne, 9. Matt Fagerson, 8. Matt Fagerson, 7. Callum Gibbins (c), 6. Rob Harley, 5. Kiran McDonald, 4. Tim Swinson, 3. Zander Fagerson, 2. Grant Stewart, 1. Oli Kebble. Replacements: 16. George Turner, 17. Alex Allan, 18. D’arcy Rae, 19. Andrew Davidson, 20. Chris Fusaro, 21. Jamie Dobie, 22. Stafford McDowall, 23. Ratu Tagive.

Isuzu Southern Kings: 15. Masixole Banda, 14. Christopher Hollis, 13. Erich Cronje, 12. Tertius Kruger, 11. Sibusiso Sithole, 10. JT Jackson, 9. Josh Allderman, 8. Ruaan Lerm (c), 7. Thembelani Bholi, 6. Tienie Burger, 5. Aston Fortuin, 4. Bobby de Wee, 3. Pieter Scholtz, 2. Jacques du Toit 1. Juan Schoeman. Replacements: 16. Alandre van Rooyen, 17. Xandre Vos, 18. Rossouw de Klerk, 19. Jerry Sexton, 20. Elrigh Louw, 21. Gavin Mills, 22. Siya Masuku, 23. Scott van Breda.